Crowded Table

I’ve been widening my music listening choices to include country. I’ve listened to bluegrass before, mostly when a colleague started loaning me some of his and his wife’s favorite albums a number of years back. I enjoyed them and appreciated that they wanted to share them with me, but none of them truly stuck.

Then I heard the country supergroup The Highwomen. Four successful country music artists came together to write and record their album: Brandi Carlile, Amanda Shires, Natalie Hemby, and Maren Morris. We were on a long weekend winter getaway with two other families a couple years ago, and our friend put on the album. As we listened to the song “Crowded Table,” literally crowded around a long pine table and playing games with our kids, I was struck by the beauty and power of these women’s voices. They are striking on their own but transformative together.

There’s always room at the table for something (and someone) new to love.