Just a Layer (or Two)

I wasn’t expecting the warm weather this morning, and halfway through a morning walk, I had my vest in hand. Three-quarters of the way home, I had my sweatshirt tied around my waist and was wishing I had opted for the capri-length instead of full-length leggings.

When I got home, I surveyed the front yard. I had cut down raggedy old stalks the other day and left all the dried seed pods intact in case some birds were still finding food in them. I hadn’t raked all winter; I knew that a leaf layer is good for the soil, but I also learned that butterflies rely on leaf coverage for laying eggs.

As I stood in the sun, eyeing new green life peeping through dead leaves and daffodils standing tall and buttery, I decided it was time to cut down all the dead growth for good and welcome in the new.

I gently scooped away leaves where they had piled up on each other but left a layer for the butterflies. I wonder when it’ll be safe to remove them. I’m not in a huge hurry, since I don’t have mulch yet.

I’m taking my time, one or two layers at a time.