Easing into Break

It’s kind of nice not rushing to leave town at the beginning of break. We’ve had years when we’ve gotten on the road right from school or gotten up before dawn the next morning to start the drive the Florida or catch an early flight.

This year, we’re not leaving until Sunday morning to drive to Vermont. When the school day ended today, it kind of felt like a typical Friday to me. I finished up some slides for next week’s lessons, made some copies, answered a few emails, and graded a reassessment.

Chris picked me up and asked me if I wanted to go to REI to try on the new hiking shoes I had mentioned. Why not? We had nowhere to be.

After dinner, we each went our separate ways: Chris to his neighborhood poker game (about 12 years in the running), Maxine to hang with a friend, and I to catch up with a few friends before we split up for the break (and to get the last of the soda bread out of my kitchen before I eat it all myself!).

I’m looking at a day of leisurely packing and a few household chores tomorrow. I am enjoying a slow unwind.