Not Jerks

Chris forwarded a Washington Post article to the family text string this evening titled, “Cats aren’t jerks. They’re just misunderstood.”

I was excited to read it because I have lamented the limited research on cats and their behavior. They are a bigger mystery than dogs, at least in my experience. It’s my cat family members who give me pause when I stare into their eyes and ask, “Do you love me? How long would it take for you to eat my face if I died?” They just blink serenely at me. Are they telling me, “You’re alright. About a day, but it’s nothing personal”?

This article explains that we have limited information on cats because their ancestors lived in solitude, while humans and dogs have had an interactive relationship and have relied on companionship for quite some time.

Contrary to widespread belief, the author claims, cats are neither aloof nor asocial. It’s just that some cats are more social than others, just like humans. Some will seek out more alone time and be more choosy about with whom they will want to spend their time regarding humans or other felines.

So, I guess chances are higher that we’ll have to work a little harder to win a cat’s favor. They’re more likely to give that, “I’m just not that into you” vibe, but there’s a heart of gold beating just underneath that meticulously groomed coat of fur.