Best Reward

My co-teacher and I have pretty much eliminated whole-group instruction in our foundational reading class. Even though we have only nine students, holding their attention and managing behavior is a daily challenge.

I always begin class with a read-aloud. This is my chance to teach them a little something about the world, model good reading, and…I just love reading to them (I am reading A Night Divided, and they are finally invested in the story). After the read-aloud, we divide them into two groups and each teach a lesson, and then trade groups. Then they might have a third rotation that involves independent work at their desks.

Today, one student was doing a particularly good job in both groups, not something he manages to pull off every day. He was focused, contributing meaningfully to the discussion, and willing to put in the work. Both of us made sure to praise him, and right before the bell rang, he asked me if he could come back at lunch so we could call his mom and tell her what a great job he did.

“Of course!” I said.

Sure enough, he showed up at my door about five seconds after the dismissal bell for lunch rang.

“I’m back!” he exclaimed.

I punched in her number and waited five rings before hearing a hesitant “…hello?” on the other end of the line. I know she’s received her share of calls from middle and elementary schools with reports of how her son had made a poor choice.

Not today! I told her about how focused and hard-working he was in reading class this morning. It took her a moment to realize there was no “but” coming next. I added, “He is very proud and wanted you to know.”

She exhaled and said, “Thank you so much. Thank you for calling. Have a wonderful day!”

When I hung up the phone, the student gave a smile and short nod and said, “Thank you! I’m going to lunch now. Bye bye!”

No, thank YOU.