Que Sera Sera

My daughter is going on a Model General Assembly trip to Richmond in April with her school team. When I told her brother, he laughed out loud. He was the president of Model UN in high school and took it very seriously. I can’t really blame him for being amused; he tried several times to get her involved in Model UN, but she would just look at him like he suggested she eat bugs.

This fall, we were on her case to get involved in an extracurricular activity, and she settled on Model General Assembly. Some of her friends joined, so she figured it wouldn’t be so bad.

“What will you be doing?” we asked her in November.

“Um, I don’t really know,” she shrugged. “But we’re going to Richmond in April.”

Oh, cool. Here’s some money.

She texted me the other afternoon and told me she needed business attire for the trip.

“Do you know what business attire is?” I asked her. Her wardrobe consists entirely of jeans, oversized t-shirts, and hoodies.

“Like, pants and skirts.” I suggested a blazer. She was down with that.

This evening, I asked her what they would be doing on the trip. She says she’s a delegate and that she’ll vote for stuff. I asked her if she needs to prepare for it. According to her, not really.