Spring It On

I had been keeping spring at arm’s length, refusing to change out my winter wardrobe and crossing my fingers for continued frosty nights. It was purely selfish: we had a ski trip to take. I wanted roaring fires, snow-covered pine trees, and deeply blanketed slopes.

We made it just by the skin of our teeth. When we crossed the state line into Vermont last Sunday afternoon, winter welcomed us with open arms. We had our roaring fireplace and snowy glade ski runs. Tuesday was a little warmer but still snow-covered. By the end of the day, my skis started to catch in the warming snow, but I had gotten in a full day of skiing.

By Wednesday morning, the rain had set in and the temperatures rose in earnest. Spring was ready to claim her spot. By the time we arrived back in Stowe that afternoon, huge green and brown swaths of the mountain had emerged; the snow was limited to the main ski runs and patches of woods sheltered from the sun.

Chris and I woke up early in Ithaca this morning and watched the sun rise over the Cayuga River as the Cornell crew team skimmed across the glasslike water. I still needed a sweater, coat and hat in the chilly morning, especially since most of our two-hour tour of Ithaca College would take place outside. I knew what was awaiting, though, as we planned to make our way back home. I kept my hoodie handy, and, sure enough, once we were midway through Pennsylvania, I had traded out my turtle neck sweater for a cotton hoodie.

Now my thoughts are turning to removing the rest of the dead leaves from the garden, spreading mulch in bare spots, planning the herbs and flowers I’ll plant in late April, and moving my indoor plants outdoors. Nothing is holding me back from embracing warm spring weather. Thank you for your patience, Spring!