Let It Snow!

We’re leaving for Stowe, Vermont tomorrow morning for a few days of skiing and college visits. It’s been years since I’ve skied anywhere other than the mid-Atlantic region, and this will be totally new for Maxine. I treat every ski trip like it’s my last; the climate is only moving in one direction, and it’s always a crapshoot in terms of weather.

I think it’s safe to confidently look forward to the trip at this point; it’s 23 degrees in Stowe right now, and the mountain has a three-foot-deep natural snow cover. The forecast for our two ski days is partly sunny and in the mid to upper 50’s. I think we may actually be hitting it at the perfect spot. The frigid temps will let up, and we’ll be able to enjoy the snow before it begins to turn slushy.

Snow pants and base layers have been fished out of closets, balaclavas and neck gaiters have been washed, and too-seldom used ski coats have laid out.

Stowe, here we come!