Satisfied

We did it. We put in two full days of skiing and each made it off the mountain in one piece. It was not another bluebird day but still very pretty and somewhat warmer.

By the end of the day, the snow was starting to catch at my skis a little, and I felt a little less in control. The slightly melting snow coupled with my tiring body told me it was time to call it a day. Chris felt the same way as we met at the bottom of the slope.

Maxine had pushed herself a little beyond her comfort zone with the group of friends she ended up with after lunch. Before we went our separate ways, I warned her, “Don’t put yourself in an uncomfortable position.”

When we met up a few hours later, she said, “Mom, I did what you told me not to do.” She had a few minor falls but was fine. She and one friend decided to take it down a notch and ski the last couple of hours together and let the more advanced thrill seekers do their thing.

After we dropped off our rental equipment, we all let out a big sigh. It was great fun, but part of the fun of skiing is putting up the skis and giving your (hopefully unbroken) body a rest.