Ithaca: It Really Is Gorges

We drove from Stowe to Ithaca today. Most of the journey was on scenic byways along and over lakes and through small towns and hamlets.

When we were nearing Ithaca, I suggested we drive through the campus of Cornell. Wow. It was stunning. Many of buildings are Gothic, and the main campus is surrounded by sleep slopes plunging down into creeks and adorned with waterfalls.

Maxine was impressed by the dramatic beauty of the campus but noted that many of the students looked stressed.

“You know, they’ve worked so hard to get into an Ivy League school, and then they’re in an Ivy League school and they really have to work hard.” Personally, I didn’t see the stress; I saw busy young people heading places with a in a breathtaking setting.

Maxine has no plans to apply to Cornell; we are here to tour Ithaca College and to see the town – oh, and to eat at Moosewood (more on that later).

A side street in Ithaca
Ithaca Falls

Published by

joannemann

I teach reading to six graders at Thomas Jefferson Middle School in Arlington, Virginia. I love to read, travel, cook, and spend time outside. I am married to a math teacher, and I have two teenage children and two cats.

2 thoughts on “Ithaca: It Really Is Gorges”

Leave a comment